COVID-19 Update: Insurance Licensing Exam Centers (From the Virginia BIO)
Virginia Bureau of Insurance Deputy Commissioner Mike Beavers announced on Wednesday, April 29 that Pearson Vue will reopen their company owned Virginia testing centers on Friday May 1, 2020. In additio, they will also be providing tests through some of their contracted and third party test centers in an effort to accommodate as many test takers as possible. Please note, that due to social distancing requirements, these test centers will only be able to operate at 50% capacity which means there will be limited availability and times. Pearson is scheduling the exams as close together as possible to provide the most testing opportunities, however ,delays will occur.
Beginning June 1, 2020 insurance licensing exams will be administered by Prometric, and Pearson Vue will no longer administer licensing exams after May 31, 2020. Registration for exams with Prometric opens April 30, 2020. Exams can be taken either online with ProProctor or at Prometric Test Centers throughout Virginia. Virginia will publish new exams and exam content outlines later this week. You can call Prometric at 1-866-891-6396 or go to www.prometric.com/virginia/insurance to schedule your exam. Please note that the phone number and email link will not be accessible until April 30, 2020
Quick and easy electronic license and renewal application services, in ALL 50 States! Instant approval notifications, getting you licensed faster!
10% discount on online license applications and renewal transaction fees (not applicable to state fees).
Virginia requires agencies to be licensed:
If you are a non-resident agent and are a sole proprietorship non-resident agency licensing is not required. All other agencies must file an application for agency license $15,
and a Certificate of Authority to Transact Business in Virginia along with a $75 entrance and filing fee. In this case, the out of state corporation must also have a Virginia registered agent (IIAV's attorney does this for IIABA members gratis). The Certificate of Authority is not unique to the insurance industry. It is required for ANY out of state corporation doing business in Virginia.
Click on a link below for more information.
Here are the
NORTH CAROLINA statutes governing business entity license; as you will see
licensure is not required if a sole proprietorship but if corporation etc, licensure is required: